Field noteNov 4, 20265 min read1 source

Nous Research launches Hermes Marketplace unifying plugins, skills and connectors for Hermes Agent

In one minute

Nous Research’s Hermes Marketplace brings Hermes Agent plugins, skills and hosted connectors into one catalog. It lists 976 plugins, labels listings Official, Verified or Community, and provides Desktop and CLI installation paths. The launch matters because it makes extensions easier to discover while putting trust signals and permission disclosures in front of users.

What changed: Nous Research has launched a dedicated Hermes Marketplace, listing 976 plugins and unifying community plugins, skills and connectors.

What happened

The Hermes Marketplace is presented as an official catalog for adding capabilities to Hermes Agent, with the tagline “Give Hermes new powers” across memory, voice, messaging and browsing. The page says it was updated two hours before capture and lists 976 plugins. Listings are grouped with Official, Verified and Community labels; the featured examples include official plugins from Nous Research and community offerings. The page does not state a launch date or explain the verification criteria behind those labels.

Installation is available through Hermes Desktop deep links and CLI commands such as hermes plugins install memory-wiki. The catalog also includes hosted connectors; supplied launch material says 54 can be accessed through a one-time sign-in via the Nous portal using OAuth rather than a locally run MCP server. Listing pages provide disclosures about credentials, ports and code execution, though the detail varies by integration.

Featured items illustrate the range. Claude Subscription is described as an experimental provider that routes Hermes turns through the official Claude Code CLI using a Claude Pro or Max subscription, with no separate API key or per-token bill. It requires the claude CLI to be installed and logged in, and the page warns that usage counts against the subscription’s Agent SDK allowance and inherits the logged-in account. Memory Wiki offers browsable subject pages and daily logs derived from local session history, plus a read-only audit panel for persistent memory files. Blender is an MCP integration with a workflow skill; its disclosure says tools execute arbitrary Python with the user’s privileges and its local server has no password while Blender is open. A Telegram Business plugin drafts customer replies and sends them to the operator for approval; nothing reaches a customer until the operator taps Send, and drafts and connection records are stored locally.

The page also features TouchDesigner, Solana Foundation payment integrations and community tools. Nous Research’s launch material says it started a seven-day Hermes Agent Plugin Hackathon with $20,000 in prizes on the same day. The marketplace page itself does not give pricing for the catalog or establish that every listed plugin is reviewed to the same standard.

What the archive adds

This is a new distribution event on a known product story. The archive’s Hermes Agent note covered its MIT-licensed, self-hosted status and v0.22.5 release; this marketplace adds a catalog and installation surface for extending it. Earlier coverage of Anthropic’s Claude Marketplace is a related comparison in marketplace design, not the same event.

Trend signal

The catalog supports the pattern of agent capabilities becoming portable packages, while its trust labels and disclosures also point to the security burden that follows. This is relevant to agent security moving to runtime boundaries: listings describe concrete risks such as code executing with user privileges, but the source does not establish that labels or disclosures enforce runtime isolation.

Why now

The marketplace page identifies itself as recently updated, and the supplied launch material places the seven-day, $20,000 plugin hackathon on the same day. Together, the catalog and contest give Hermes developers both an initial distribution surface and a near-term reason to build for it. The source does not explain why Nous chose this timing.

Connections to other events

The earlier Telegram post about Hermes Agent’s May update described a broader move toward an open-source agent operating environment, including desktop and orchestration work. The marketplace adds an extension-discovery and installation layer to that product direction. It also meets the marketplace model covered in the archive’s Claude Marketplace note, but this source concerns Hermes and does not establish shared infrastructure or interoperability between the two catalogs.

Why it matters

For teams adopting Hermes, one catalog can reduce the friction of finding and installing extensions. Trust labels and listing-level disclosures can help operators assess what an integration does before enabling it, especially where plugins run local code, access credentials or expose a service on a port. The examples also show that an extension store is not just a gallery: it must explain where data goes, what runs locally, and which actions require human approval.

For teams building agent platforms, the launch is a practical reminder that distribution and governance need to ship together. A one-command install is useful, but it raises questions about publisher identity, review scope, updates and permission boundaries. The source provides examples of disclosures, not evidence that all marketplace items are safe, reviewed equally or constrained by a sandbox. Operators should treat labels as signals, not guarantees, and evaluate an extension’s code and access before installing it.

Limits and uncertainty

The source is a live catalog, not an independent audit. It gives a current listing count and examples, but does not specify how Official, Verified and Community status is granted, whether each plugin receives a security review, or how updates are tested. The page’s “updated 2 hours ago” is relative to the capture and cannot establish a publication date. It also does not document marketplace fees, removal policies, usage analytics, uptime commitments for hosted connectors, or the complete data-handling terms for every listing. Descriptions of individual plugins are not proof that their behavior has been independently verified.

Skill to build now

Before installing an agent plugin, make a one-page permission review: record its publisher and trust label, required credentials, network endpoints and local privileges; then identify what data it sends and whether any external action needs approval. Use the listing disclosure as a starting point, and check the plugin’s own details before giving it access to production accounts or files.

Reader takeaway

Hermes now has a single place to discover and install a large set of extensions, with trust labels and disclosures that make some risks visible. That improves distribution, not certainty: builders still need to inspect what a plugin can read, execute and send before enabling it.

Evidence / sources

  1. 1hermes-agent.nousresearch.com/marketplace
All Field Notes

Next reads

Read next

Open the graph
  1. 01topicClaudeExplore the claude topic hub.
  2. 02topicClaude CodeExplore the claude-code topic hub.
  3. 03topicMcpExplore the mcp topic hub.
  4. 04archiveField NotesOpen the latest editorial analysis.
  5. 05sourcesSourcesSee the original sources this archive cites.
Who read this page?Machine requests, hidden until opened

Loading the privacy-safe route aggregate...

Open the JSON contract