---
type: "post"
id: "anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c"
slug: "anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c"
title: "Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price"
description: "Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price."
retrieval_nugget: "Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price. For verified Ultra accounts, the five-hour session limit is gone, but weekly, model-specific, and discretionary capacity limits remain—an important distinction for teams relying on Claude Code for long-running work."
published_at: "2026-10-30"
updated_at: "2026-10-30"
record_date: "2026-10-30"
date_kind: "published_at"
topics: ["claude","anthropic","claude-code"]
entities: ["Anthropic","Claude","Claude Ultra","Claude Code","Claude Fable"]
related_patterns: []
novelty_label: "same_event"
what_changed: "Same event as We’re renaming our Max plans: Max 5x → Max Max 20x → Ultra Max is still $100/month, and Ultra is still $200."
prior_refs: ["memory:26d27741-7831-83c8-a105-40accb2ac0ba"]
source_url: "https://support.claude.com/en/articles/17728952-what-is-the-ultra-plan"
source_urls: ["https://support.claude.com/en/articles/17728952-what-is-the-ultra-plan"]
schema_version: "newruntime-agent-readable-v0.2"
stable_id: "post:anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c"
status: "published"
visuals: []
editor: {"role":"editor","name":"Andrey Reshetnikov","profile":"https://newruntime.com/owner-profile.md","profile_json":"https://newruntime.com/owner-profile.json","same_as":["https://www.linkedin.com/in/reshetnikov1/","https://t.me/lapetuse"]}
routes: {"html":"https://newruntime.com/posts/anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c/","markdown":"https://newruntime.com/posts/anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c.md","json":"https://newruntime.com/posts/anthropic-has-renamed-its-former-max-20x-subscription-8a404c.json"}
---

# Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price

## Retrieval answer

Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price. For verified Ultra accounts, the five-hour session limit is gone, but weekly, model-specific, and discretionary capacity limits remain—an important distinction for teams relying on Claude Code for long-running work.

## Summary

Anthropic has renamed its former Max 20x subscription as Ultra and kept its $200-per-month web price. For verified Ultra accounts, the five-hour session limit is gone, but weekly, model-specific, and discretionary capacity limits remain—an important distinction for teams relying on Claude Code for long-running work.

## What happened

Anthropic’s Claude Help Center now describes an individual consumer subscription called Ultra. The company says that Max 20x is now called Ultra, and that existing Max 20x subscribers move automatically to the new name with no price change. Ultra costs $200 per month for web subscriptions; mobile pricing may differ by app platform. The plan is currently available only as a monthly subscription, and Anthropic says prices and plans can change at its discretion.

The headline operational change is tied to account verification. Ultra provides ten times the Pro plan’s usage every week. Verified Ultra accounts do not have a five-hour limit, which Anthropic says lets customers work within their weekly allocation rather than being stopped by that session-based cap. Accounts that have not yet been verified retain a temporary limit. Anthropic says it automatically verifies Ultra accounts using signals including account and payment history, then removes the temporary limit without action from the customer. Verifying a phone number during checkout is a separate step and does not remove that limit.

This does not turn Ultra into an unlimited plan. Anthropic says Ultra has a weekly usage limit shared across all models, plus a separate weekly limit for Fable. It may also apply other capacity controls, including weekly or monthly caps and limits by model or feature, to manage capacity and fair access. The company explicitly does not guarantee uninterrupted service. Customers can inspect their status in Settings > Usage: Anthropic says that an account is verified when it does not show a Current session bar. It also describes a limit reset option that can restore weekly usage limits to full.

Ultra includes access to Claude Code under the same subscription, positioning the plan as a unified option for terminal-based coding workflows rather than a separate coding purchase. Anthropic also lists priority access to new models, features, and products; support for longer multi-step background work such as reports, spreadsheets, and presentations; and monthly Claude API credits. The help article does not state the credit amount or enumerate the model and feature caps that may apply at a given time.

For an individual developer, the practical reading is narrow but useful. The product name has changed, and a verified heavy user can now organize a long coding or knowledge-work session around the weekly allowance instead of a five-hour session boundary. That user still needs to manage consumption as a constrained resource, particularly if work depends on Fable or a capacity-limited feature.

## What the archive adds

This is a new access fact in an ongoing Claude subscription story, rather than a new product family. An earlier note on [Claude Duet](https://newruntime.com/posts/introducing-claude-duet-claude-by-anthropic-05310c/) identified it as a proactive-agent research preview for Pro and Max subscribers; Ultra now becomes the renamed high-usage subscription at the top of that individual-plan ladder.

## Trend signal

The change supports the archive assumption that [frontier-lab inference capacity remains scarce enough for providers to tier and tighten usage](https://newruntime.com/shifts/compute-backed-ai-contracts/). Removing a session timer for verified customers improves the experience, but Anthropic retains weekly, model-level, feature-level, and discretionary limits. The commercial unit is therefore access to managed capacity, not an unconditional promise of unlimited agent work.

## Connections to other events

Claude Duet’s research preview was offered to Pro and Max subscribers in the earlier [Claude Duet note](https://newruntime.com/posts/introducing-claude-duet-claude-by-anthropic-05310c/). The Ultra change matters to that same subscription audience because priority access and larger usage capacity can affect who can practically try new Claude products and sustain longer workflows once they arrive.

## Why it matters

Teams using Claude Code often encounter limits not as an abstract quota but in the middle of a debugging, refactoring, or repository-exploration loop. A five-hour session boundary can force work to pause at an arbitrary point. For verified Ultra subscribers, its removal makes the weekly allowance the more relevant planning constraint and may make longer hands-on sessions less brittle.

But the documentation also cautions against treating a high-priced subscription as dedicated or infinite compute. The shared weekly limit crosses models, Fable has its own weekly ceiling, and Anthropic can impose further caps. A team that needs predictable production throughput should distinguish a personal Claude subscription from an operational capacity commitment. The subscription can support developer productivity; it does not establish a service-level guarantee for an automated pipeline.

## Limits and uncertainty

The source is a support article, not a release note with a dated rollout schedule or usage tables. It does not quantify the weekly Ultra allowance in tokens, messages, Claude Code tasks, or hours, beyond calling it ten times Pro usage. It also does not disclose the exact criteria or timing for account verification, the temporary limit applied before verification, current Fable limits, or potential additional caps. The article says existing Max 20x subscribers move automatically, but it does not establish availability or billing behavior in every mobile market.

## Skill to build now

Treat personal AI subscriptions as capacity-constrained tools and record the constraint that actually interrupts work. This week, have each heavy Claude Code user check Settings > Usage, confirm whether the account is verified, and note which model or task exhausts the weekly allocation. Then separate interactive development work from batch-like tasks that can wait for a reset or use another approved path.

## Reader takeaway

Ultra is the new name for Claude’s former Max 20x plan, not an unlimited tier. Verified subscribers lose the five-hour session limit, which is meaningful for long Claude Code sessions, but weekly shared capacity, a separate Fable limit, and further possible restrictions still govern how much work the subscription can sustain.

Editor: [Andrey Reshetnikov](https://newruntime.com/owner-profile.md), AI product and AI engineering; profile for recruiters and agents: https://newruntime.com/owner-profile.json

## Continue in the graph

Next records for an agent, linked to their Markdown twins. Replace `.md` with `.json` for structured fields, including `next_reads`.

- topic hub: [Claude](https://newruntime.com/topics/claude.md): Explore the claude topic hub.
- topic hub: [Anthropic](https://newruntime.com/topics/anthropic.md): Explore the anthropic topic hub.
- topic hub: [Claude Code](https://newruntime.com/topics/claude-code.md): Explore the claude-code topic hub.
- collection: [Field Notes](https://newruntime.com/posts.json): Open the latest editorial analysis.
- collection: [Source Ledger](https://newruntime.com/source-ledger.json): Inspect the public source evidence graph.
- whole graph: [discovery graph](https://newruntime.com/discovery-graph.json) (typed nodes and edges) and [site index](https://newruntime.com/site-index.md)
